Bearcats Receive Medals For State Win

Kaleigh Stewart, Staff Reporter

Monday Feb. 1 at the Bearcat Stadium, the Bearcats celebrated the new Texas football state championship record set after their Jan. 15 win. 

The Bearcats defeated Crosby 56-21 breaking the state record giving them 10 state championship wins. 

At the game the football team received the state championship team trophy and DeMarco Roberts received the Offensive MVP award and Cap Mooney received the Defensive MVP award.

Gold medals were handed out to all participants including the dance team, cheer, the Bearcat Regiment, trainers, the coaches and the football team. 

Wide receiver Jojo Earle was presented The Landry Award as top HS football player in North Texas Jan. 28.

State Sen. Drew Springer and State Rep. Phil King presented the team with separate resolutions from the Texas Senate and the Texas House of Representatives, respectively, at the event. Aledo Mayor Kit Marshall and Fort Worth City Councilman Bryan Byrd also attended the event. 

This officially marks a successful end to the Bearcat football team’s season.